Diver Certification

IAHD Discover Scuba Diving Programs

Discover Scuba Diving (DSD) programs introduce scuba diving to any interested person, age 10 and above, in a safe, controlled pool setting. For qualified divers, the Advanced DSD program allows qualifed divers to expand the DSD experience into open water. Classes are supervised by IAHD-certified professionals. Note: DSD is not a certification level class. Medical approval from the diver’s physician is required for this and all IAHD diving programs.

IAHD Confined Water Diver

Confined Water Diver is a diver certification for use in pools only. Designed for those who enjoy the exercise and fun while scuba diving but are unable or don’t desire to explore diving in open water, this certification allows divers to conduct subsequent IAHD-supervised dives in pools.

IAHD Sport Diver

The IAHD Sport Diver course is an entry level open water scuba certification that provides candidates ages 12 and up with the necessary knowledge and skills required to dive safely in an open water environment under direct supervision of an IAHD-certified professional. Certified IAHD Sport Divers may dive to a maximum depth of 40 feet.

IAHD Open Water Diver

The Open Water Diver course provides the knowledge and skills required to safely dive in an open-water environment, accompanied by two or three certified support divers or IAHD-certified dive professionals. The course is performance based and specific academic & waterskills requirements must be met in order to complete the program. Upon completion of the course you receive the appropriate Open Water Diver certification based upon your level of dependency and your ability to assist your fellow divers. Max. depth is 130 feet.

IAHD Advanced Open Water Diver

The IAHD Advanced Open Water Diver Course is designed to provide the candidate with greater supervised dive experience, while furthering their academic knowledge and diving skills. The course focuses mainly on open water dives augmented by brief academic sessions. A minimum of 5 dives is required for certification. There are no compulsory dives. Together with your IAHD instructor, you can make your own program.

IAHD Specialty Diver

The Specialty Diver Program is adaptable to suit the interests and abilities of each diver. Some of the most popular courses are:

• Enriched Air (Nitrox) Diver– our #1 specialty course!
• Fish Identification
• Night Diver
• Peak Performance Buoyancy
• Equipment Specialist I & II
• Dry Suit Diver
• Wreck Diver
• Propulsion Vehicle Diver
• Deep Diver
• Underwater Videography
• Search & Recovery Diver
• Boat Diver
• Multi-Level & Computer Diver
• Underwater Digital Photography
• Underwater Hunter
• Oxygen Provider
• Underwater Navigation Diver

Dive Partners

IAHD-certified divers are required to have IAHD-certified dive partners with them at all times during a dive. These dive partners are trained to assist IAHD divers with any diving tasks they cannot accomplish on their own. Level 2 divers are required to have two dive partners. Level 3 divers are required to have three dive partners, one of whom must be an IAHD-certified professional diver.

Find dive partners

Find IAHD-certified professionals

Get certified as a dive partner

Get certified as a professional diver


If you’ve already signed up for a course, don’t forget to fill out these forms and bring them to your first session!